I’m on my way back

I’ve been thinking about how all of my friends have been doing something this summer, going on trips and vacations all over the place, and I haven’t done anything. Right as I started thinking how boring I am and that I need to do something, I realized that despite my uneventful summer, it’s been one of the best in a very long time. Not because of what I have done, but because of how I’ve felt. These past couple of years I have frantically tried to do things, endlessly chasing something that’ll make me feel happy. Last year I went to France to surf camp, the year before that I went to the US and the years before that too. But all I was really doing was running away from my problems, thinking that if I could just go far enough or run fast enough, my dark thoughts would magically evaporate. But they never did.

This summer, instead of going on “vacation” and continuing on my quest to run from my problems, I’ve focused completely on them. And surprisingly, it’s now that I’m starting to feel a lot better. So in a way, this has been one of my best summers in a long time, I could never have imagined that what I needed all along was right here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I’m on my way back”

  1. Sara says :

    Jag förstår hur du känner. Jag har själv fått lära mig att möta mina demoner istället för att försöka fly dem, för de hinner ändå alltid ikapp. Men det är svårt, j-a svårt. Hur har du burit dig åt för att bemästra dem? Kraaamis

  2. winterlust says :

    You’re learning to be content with who you are, no matter where you are, the most important thing :)

    I’m very proud of your progress girl !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

