Vacation Snapshots Part 2

Some more pictures from my vacation…

One evening after dinner we went to a cupcake shop called Zillycakes (it’s on Elmwood avenue). My grandparents and I each chose a cupcake and topping and they made them for us on the spot. I chose a mini rootbeer cupcake with chocolate meringue buttercream frosting.

Of course I did a bit of shopping too… more about that later.

And sipped a couple of Tim Horton’s iced coffee. Coffee at most coffee shops in the US is way too weak for me, which is why I often buy Starbucks (even though it is crazy expensive and my relatives always glare at me when I spend my money there), but it’s the only coffee that really even tastes like coffee. Tim Horton’s iced coffee tasted like water with milk to me.

I hung out with my lovely cousin at her boyfriend’s parents lake house in Maine. It was a beautiful place. I also hung out with my other cousin, he’s seen in one of the photos in my previous post from Diana’s Baths.

Threw on my bikini and went to the beach a couple of times. Or drove over to my other aunts place and swam in her pool.

Picked lots of blueberries. I picked 7,5 lbs (3,4 kg) to be exact. And we were only at the blueberry picking place for about 15 minutes.

American blueberries are so much easier and more fun to pick than Swedish ones.

I also picked raspberries at my grandfather’s friend’s place. They tasted like summer.

One thing I love about being in the US in the summer is all the fresh fruit and vegetables. We got lots of fresh fruit at farmer’s markets or fruit stands along the road. Fresh peaches, raspberries, blueberries, sweet corn on the cob, plums, watermelon, grapes, cherries… I was in heaven!

One evening I baked my “famous” pie. It’s a pie I make at the hospital often and it’s always a favorite. This one I filled with fresh picked peaches and blueberries. It was a winner.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Vacation Snapshots Part 2”

  1. winterlust says :

    Oh summer fruit, how I miss it! That pie looks amazing! Your hair has gotten sooo light, love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

