Reader question: What’s your story?

magazines

Photo: dreamalittledream4me.tumblr.com

What’s your story? I came across your blog through random internet searching about the fashion industry and I am interested to know what you are going to school for now that you’ve decided not to work in fashion? I am also in a career flux at age 25!

I got this question several weeks ago on my formspring, sorry it’s taken me so long to respond, but here goes!

My story of working in the fashion industry is this: I started out as a web editor, stylist/fashion editor and allround reporter/interviewer at two magazines (published under the same company). After a couple of years I decided to move on and landed a job as fashion editor/stylist and editor in chief at another magazine. A couple of months later (as I was still at that job) I was offered a job as a fashion editor and stylist at InStyle and moved to Prague to work for them. Parallell to my job at InStyle I was still working at my other job in Sweden (as fashion editor/stylist/editor in chief). I didn’t end up staying in Prague very long for various reasons and when I moved back to Sweden I continued to work in fashion for a year or two but had essentially decided I wanted to step back from the industry, if not for good then at least for a while. I had a lot of other stuff I was dealing with in my life at the time and needed to take a break and try to figure out what I wanted my next step to be.

Now I’m studying at University. I study IT and design, I guess you could say I’m studying to be a web designer but my education is rather broad so it all depends on which direction I choose to steer it. This might sound like a big leap from fashion but web design has been an interest of mine for over half my life. I developed and interest for web design (HTML, coding, the whole nine…) when I was about 11 or 12 years old and built my first website back then, and it’s since been one of my big interests and hobbies. I’m doing a three year bachelor degree and I’m just nearing the end of my first semester, in other words I’ve got two and a half years to go!

I don’t regret any of the jobs I’ve taken in the past, despite some of them having a rather detrimental environment. I’ve learned something every step of the way, life lessons and experiences you couldn’t put a price tag on. I may or may not go back into fashion one day, it’s still an interest of mine but for now I’ve put working in fashion on the back burner. I hope you’re able to find what you want to pursue. Studying something your passionate about is a big advantage because you’ll have an easier time staying motivated and taking in information if it’s something you are really interested in. Good luck, and keep me updated on what you decide to do!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

