My sister’s fashion show

Let me tell you about my little sister. Lisa is a saucy little blond number with a smile to die for and a level of confidence I could only dream of. Since she was a little kid she’s been sewing, it’s kind of been one of those things you always associate with her.

Once when she was about 12 or 13 years old she sewed three (or was it four?) stuffed animals that a friend of our moms had ordered. It took her hours of work, and the final product was excellent and without the slightest bit of flaw Рthey would have given the Karl Lagerfeld bear a run for its money. When she graduated from high school she designed and sewed her own graduation dress, another piece of art which received great acclaim (as well as jealous looks).

The past couple of years she’s been studying fashion design in various form. She’s done courses in fashion design drawing, pattern making, had numerous internships with designers both here in Sweden and in London, and this past year she’s attended a one year fashion design education. Yesterday was her final presentation of some of the work she’s done during the year.

I made sure to plant myself front and center at the end of the catwalk where Lisa would be pausing to do her little pose before returning backstage. Camera at the ready, a slight nervous flutter in my stomach, I awaited the start of the show. At T+3 minutes, the show began, and opening the show was my sister. Hair swept to one side, a big black hat covering half her face, and red lips demanding their attention as she confidently advanced down the runway, pride would be an understatement of what I felt in that moment.

She showed a luxurious pair of dressy pants, a high waisted skirt and a magnificent little black dress, each piece showing proof of her talent. After the show we showered her with hugs and flowers and looked at an exhibit of some of the work she’d done during the year. The display included her application to the Fashion Institute of Technology in NYC, which she’s been accepted to. She’ll be moving to NYC and starting there in the fall. Yes, this is huge, and I am both overjoyed and painfully saddened by it as I’m going to miss her terribly.
The evening ended with tapas and drinks (for us onlookers, my sister was off to the after party). It was a big day, and there was undoubtedly a lot to celebrate.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “My sister’s fashion show”

  1. winterlust says :

    Lisa looks so beautiful in those pictures! Did you take them?

    P.S New York trip next year?? :D

    • Tina says :

      Yes, I took the photos, I was snapping away like a madman. I love my portrait lens that I got back in December! I was switching between my regular lens for the fashion show (to be able to take both distance and closeup shots) and then switched to my portrait lens once the show was over. The portrait lens takes the best pictures.

      YES. A trip to NYC is my top priority, already have it all planned. Cannot wait to finally go, so excited! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

