Treating my leather bag

The other day I got chatting about leather bags with the store clerk at one of my favorite shops. I had my Anthropologie number slung over my shoulder and mentioned that I should get around to cleaning and treating the leather. It’s been in need of some TLC for far too long. The store clerk gave me some great tips, and the next day I stopped my an equestrian shop to pick up some leather conditioner.

Cleaning and treating leather items (jackets, shoes, bags) is key to making them last you a lifetime. Here’s what you do:

1. Grab a regular soft sponge (if using a dish sponge, do not use the rough side), dampen the sponge and apply a tiny bit of dish soap.
2. Rub the entire bag (or other leather item) gently with the sponge to remove dirt, chemicals and grime.
3. Use a soft cloth to rub off any excess soap or water. Let the bag dry completely.
4. Apply leather conditioner (you can find good stuff at equestrian shops) with a soft cloth (an old sock will do). Rubbing in circular motions, coat the entire bag. Let the conditioner soak in over night.
5. The next morning, use a soft cloth to gently rub off any excess leather conditioner, and you’re done!

This is what my bag looked like after (above). I used a clear conditioner but because the leather was a very light color, and the bag was quite dry and worn it soaked up a lot of the grease and became quite dark. If you’re unsure of how the conditioner will work on your leather, always test on a small hidden spot first. My bag is lovely and soft like a baby’s butt now!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Treating my leather bag”

  1. winterlust says :

    Wow the difference is HUGE! Looks great. I have mainly black leather shoes for work that get worn a little too much, polish works wonders though. So worth the money to buy quality and look after it huh?

    • Tina says :

      Yes, definitely – quality over quantity! Cheap things break or wear out so much quicker (despite me taking very good care of all my things). When you think about the money spent on say 3 cheap bags that are a mess in not too long, you realize you’re spending as much money on cheap bags as you would on one bag that’ll last you longer than all three cheap bags together.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

