Dream a little dream…

Iceland

Iceland

Iceland

Iceland

Nearly every summer since 2005 I have travelled to the US to visit my relatives for about three weeks. It’s pretty much the same set up every year, but it’s important for me to go because I have all my relatives in the US and I so rarely get to see them. This year I’m not going, I was offered a new job and a full time schedule for most of the summer, so the responsible side of me decided my student budget would benefit more from work than vacation.

The truth is, I’m very sad that I don’t have any vacation or travel planned this summer. The summer is my only time off all year, and the only time I have to travel. A part of me so desperately wants to drop everything and justĀ go. Right now. Just be free. I realize my priorities in life are so often wrong. I’m too responsible for my own good sometimes, and the more I think about it the more I come to appreciate that life is so precious, and short. It should be spent doing things that will make you happy. There’s a time and a place to be responsible, but you only get one life and thus one chance to explore this magnificent world of ours. There’s so much to see, and it’s impossible to see it all in a lifetime, but I’d be a fool to not explore the little bit I can.

I’m going to try my hardest to find the time to travel again soon. Someplace warm would be nice, especially since Sweden has been so cold and rainy all summer, but – crazy as it sounds – the place I’ve been most tempted to go lately… is Iceland. I visited Iceland as a kid with my family. We stayed for three days and did the typical tourist things – the Blue Lagoon, saw some erupting geysirs, and went horseback riding on Iceland ponies. I’ve always loved horses, so as you can imagine I was in heaven on Iceland with all the horses roaming free everywhere. I think I want to go back and re-live that, and just enjoy the big wide open spaces, beautiful nature, and serenity of it all. Who wants to go with me?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Dream a little dream…”

  1. winterlust says :

    Don’t worry, I get the exact same feeling every week, if not day (to drop everything and just take off) but remember you’ll be done with university VERY SOON!! Then the whole world is yours for the taking & you will no longer be restricted to when you can travel and where.

    Iceland, now that’s somewhere I’ve never thought about visiting. Sounds like your perfect place! What’s the best time of year to go?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

