It’s October and I’m thinking about Christmas

This is going to sound crazy, but I’ve started longing for Christmas. Already. I don’t know what has gotten into me but I’ve started thinking about cosy Christmas stars lighting up the windows, decorating and making the house look and feel cosy. I actually hate winter, and as soon as Christmas has passed I cannot stand the cold and darkness that keeps an iron grip on Sweden up until about March or April. Winters are so long and dark here in Sweden, it’s beyond me how we survive each year.

The only good thing about winter is that somewhere in all of that darkness and stone coldness, there’s Christmas that brings some light and gives me an opportunity to be extra creative – I love to decorate the house, be crafty and make my own Christmas cards and wrap my gifts in all kinds of creative ways. There’s a lot of days leading up to Chrismtas too, that offer opportunity to be crafty, like Lucia when we eat Lussebullar (sweet buns with saffron flavor, yes I’ll be sure to be baking them this year!), or the four Sundays of advent, we light one candle every Sunday in December leading up to Christmas.

Are you looking forward to Christmas?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “It’s October and I’m thinking about Christmas”

  1. Haleigh says :

    You’re right… the winters in Sweden are extremely hard to get through without losing your sanity. I went through two of them and by the end of the second one, I swear I was about to go crazy. I don’t know how you guys can get through every winter, it seems beyond me. Hans doesn’t seem to be bothered by the dark and colder months at all.

    Christmas in Sweden is magical though! I had never experienced a white Christmas until I lived there.

  2. winterlust says :

    My last white christmas was in 1994 & I was too young to remember that so I’m looking forward to christmas this year! Even though I’ll be in Prague & will have no one to spend it with lol.

    I hate christmas in Perth, it’s like 40+ degrees and I usually spend the whole day at the beach!

Leave a Reply

