The just because of sales

I used to be excited about the post-Christmas sales when I was a kid. I’d be up and out the door first thing on the 26th of December to check out the sales at my local mall. But as I got older (and wiser) I realized that whatever marked down items I bought at the sales ended up being a waste of money, because they were always spur-of-the-moment purchases that I only bought because they were on sale. I realized I was just convincing myself to buy something “just because”, because it was on sale and because I might need or use it. Well, I never did need nor use most of it.

So for the past couple of years I haven’t shopped at the sales at all, I’ve avoided them completely, because along with my epiphany that the things weren’t coming to good use, I also really despise the crowds. It stresses me out and makes me anxious and if that’s not a reason to avoid the sales, I don’t know what is.

This year I’m avoiding town at all costs but I’m breaking my pattern a little bit and going for a speedy visit to the local mall. I’m going as soon as they open in hopes of dodging the crowds and going to just run through the stores I’m interested in and that’s that. I’ve really only got one store in mind, and it’s the sole reason why I’m even considering the sales at all. Accessorize. Ever since the girl in the store revealed to me when their sales start, and that they mark their items down 50% from the start I knew I had to give it a chance, but I’m going to be hard on myself and not buy anything just because.

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “The just because of sales”

  1. winterlust says :

    I like that dress! I’m the same with the sales though, I used to love them but they’re so stressful & it’s crazy having to fight for sizes, it’s so insane (kinda like Primark! haha).

Leave a Reply

