My love for boho-ish

I think it started way back when Rachel Zoe took Nicole Richie under her wing and revamped her entire wardrobe. That’s when Nicole Richie (and the rest of Zoe’s little army of clients) started dressing in the style that came to be titillated “boho-chic”, and I was instantly obsessed.

Around that time, I would spend hours searching the web for photos of Nicole Richie, Rachel Zoe, Mischa Barton, Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen etc. I dreamt of buying a Balenciaga biker bag in every color and I was drawn to anything “bohemian”. I specifically remember wearing a floor sweeping dark brown skirt to school, with a white top and a ton of bracelets and necklaces (this was a staple of mine), I loved that outfit but hated the stares I got for wearing something other than the preppy style that was the “norm” at my school.

My style has changed a lot through the years, as it always does. I think my mood and where I am at in my life effects what my style is like. But one thing I always tend to come back to is the “bohemian”-style. Anything that would go under the indian, native american, hippy, gypsy, boho – categories, I love it! Slap a band around my forehead and I get nicknamed Pocahontas. In fact, when I was living in Prague a friend of mine would always call me Pocahontas (this after seeing me at a Halloween party where I was dressed as Cleopatra with a gold band around my forehead), I swear he didn’t even know my real name.

As followers of my blog will know, I love Free People, Accessorize and the like. And as for my love for Nicole Richie? It never faded! I’m happy she’s still dressing “boho-chic”, even after breaking up with Rachel Zoe. And of course I love her boho-inspired brands Winter Kate and House of Harlow.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My love for boho-ish”

  1. alex says :

    Å älska! Ser fram emot att få boho-shoppa med dig när jag kommer o hälsar på framöver. Behöver det.

  2. Haleigh says :

    I am obsessed with boho chic, too! Although I don’t think it really suits me, it looks much better on other people. I’m Cherokee, so I have a lot of real Native American jewelry that has been passed down to me, but I never really know how to incorporate it into my outfits since I have a different type of style.

    • Tina says :

      I was actually thinking about that today too as I waltzed through the mall looking for more boho inspired things – it’s hard to get it to work. I see so many inspirational photos but I always feel like my own style is so… “meh”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

