It’s common courtesy

I’m sure most people would say that they would stop and help a person in need, but in reality not many people do.

The other day I was walking along a street in town with my mom and a woman tripped and went tumbling on the sidewalk, I was there in an instant and grabbed her arm to pull her up. About a year ago I went out for a walk and suddenly noticed an old lady sitting on the sidewalk with her walking stick beside her. I couldn’t tell if she’d fallen or if she had sat down because she wasn’t feeling well, so I stopped and asked her if she needed help. She told me she’d appreciate it if I could help her stand up because she’d fallen on the sidewalk but couldn’t get back up.

I’ve seen people in distress that are completely ignored by passers by and it makes angry that people can be so selfish. It’s not like they don’t have the 30 seconds it takes to stop and help someone up.

When I met B on Friday she told me that she’d slipped on an icy street back in December. She had to struggle a long time to get up because she’d hurt her right hand and had her left hand full och bags, so she had no means of supporting herself in order to get up. It was midday and she was on a busy street in the centre of town. And not one single person helped her up. Her hand swelled up and she made her way to the emergency room where they x-rayed her and she found out her right wrist was completely broken.

Don’t be selfish. Stop and help someone out, even if you’re not sure they want or need your help.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “It’s common courtesy”

  1. Haleigh says :

    I really think it depends where you’re at.. When I lived in Sweden, I noticed people weren’t near as polite as Americans are. People would often bump into me in the city streets and I found it appalling that they didn’t say excuse me or something. But I’m sure if you go to NYC then it’s a different story 🙂

    • Tina says :

      I notice this all the time in Stockholm, that people bump into me and don’t say excuse me, and it drives me insane! I guess I’ve got kind of used to it now but I still turn and make a point out of commenting if someone doesn’t say excuse me after deliberately bumping into me. I know people are better at being polite in smaller cities though.

  2. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine says :

    I too wish that more people were helpful. Sometimes I feel that I’m the only one helping others and I get really discouraged when I don’t see anyone else doing it, and also when people don’t help me out once in a while! But of course I’d never be so discouraged that I would stop helping others 🙂 We need to start a Helping Movement!!

Leave a Reply

