Easter for the patients

I wanted to make something Easter-related for the patients at the hospital today. After looking for a good Easter cake recipe all week, I finally decided a classic (Swedish) Prinsesstårta would be both fun to make and appreciated by the patients. I made it all from scratch and I’m quite proud of the result (if I may say so myself).

This is a three layered cake (I made the sponge-cake bases myself). I layered it with lingonberry jam, banana slices, cream, peach slices and then rolled out marsipan and covered the cake. I colored some pieces of marsipan that I had set aside and rolled little “egg”-shapes to top the cake. I also put a yellow marsipan bow around the edge of the cake. A final touch was the little chicken on top.

On the left side of the cake is another chocolate cake that I topped with chocolate-coffee frosting and pink and green (Easter colors!) sprinkles.

Happy Easter everyone!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Easter for the patients”

  1. teddi says :

    looks super yummy! very thoughtful of you!

  2. winterlust says :

    WOW! That cake looks amazing!! Sponge cakes are my favourite, it’s making my mouth water now! haha

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Baking inspiration « Fashtastic - April 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

