Take a break? They won’t let me.

In regards to my post about having a stressful week and not being able to “shut off” work when I get home, a lot of you asked me if I’m aware that I can take a break. Yes, I know there’s such a thing as taking a break.

But. Taking a break isn’t as easily said as done, especially not when your boss is texting you with work related business at 10pm. Yes. 10 PM. Not AM.

This week is shaping up to be every bit as workaholic-stressful-crazy-busy as last week and it doesn’t matter how much I try to “shut off” work when I get home. It’s stalking me. Forget that my cell is my “private” number, it’s ringing and beeping at all hours of the day, apparently there’s no such thing as 9-to-5.

I enjoy my job, I like having all the responsibility that I do and it’s nice that my bosses have such confidence in me that they put me in charge of such big tasks. However, I also know that my tendency to neverstopworking is something that’s easily used and abused. That’s something I need to work on, I need to remember to put my foot down when I have so much to do that I feel nauseous and need to sit down because I feel like I’m going to pass out. I need to tell myself that my wellbeing is more important than being such an unbelievable people pleaser all the time.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Take a break? They won’t let me.”

  1. teddi says :

    so sorry (gah)! just tell me to shut the ef up & virtually flip me off, cool? i’m joking! 😉 hopefully laughter helps?

  2. underestimatedmom says :

    I am an unbelievable people pleaser too. It’s so hard for me to say no, especially when I know I can accomplish it and accomplish it well. My last job used and abused me until I had to leave.. Just a fair warning, as much as you love your job.. you are going to hate it if you keep doing what your doing. Even if it just for a couple hours you need some you time. GO to a movie where you HAVE to shut off your phone and you don’t have internet access. Anything just give yourself a little break. It will be worth it, I promise!!

  3. winterlust says :

    Remember, you’re only supposed to be working 50% so if you feel the pressure is too much, you HAVE to say so. I’m the same as you, I thrive on pressure and bending over backwards for work but I’ve learnt this year that my health is alot more important.

    Your boss doesn’t realise how much work she’s putting on you because she thinks it’s okay because to her, it’s normal. Say something. Or at least make it clear that when you go home, you switch off.

    What’s so important at 10pm??

Leave a Reply

