To sit alone at a café with nothing but a cup of coffee as company

I’ve been slightly shy to admit it (which is ridiculous really, because we’re all different and we’ve all got our own things that we enjoy or like), because of the reactions I get, but I often go and sit alone at a café. I don’t claim to be in any way unique in doing this, but I’ve got some strange reactions when I tell people I’m going to a café alone. A lot of times I’ve got sad eyes or a shocked gasp in response, like it’s the weirdest thing a person could do.

On the contrary, it’s one of my favorite things to do. I often grab my journal and head off to my favorite café to sit and write, I’ve always been a very philosophical person, so it’s nice to get a moment to myself when I can just sit and relax, write down all the thoughts going on in my head and reflect on what is going on in my life at the moment. Other times I bring a book or a magazine, or I’ll call a friend, blog from my cell phone or write a “To do”-list. It’s just a nice way to shut off the world outside for a moment.

Unfortunately, the reactions I’ve received have made me a little self-conscious about sitting alone at cafés (that’s not to say it’s stopped me from doing it), I start to wonder what the baristas at my favorite cafés think of me when they notice I come so often, and always alone. Do they think I have no friends? Do they wonder what I’m writing in that turquoise journal of mine? I know I should just shrug my shoulders and not give a damn what anyone might be thinking of me, because if it makes me happy then who gives a banana skid? And I know that I do have friends that I hang out with, that I go to cafés with or do other fun things with. I also know that everyone could benefit from once in a while spending time in their own company, gladly at a café with a book or a journal.

Do you ever go to a café and sit alone? 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “To sit alone at a café with nothing but a cup of coffee as company”

  1. Haleigh says :

    I’m the exact same way. I actually prefer to go to a cafe alone. It gives me time to think, to study, to write, or to work on my own little projects. I’ve always been somewhat of an introvert though. I like to be around people, but only for a certain amount of time… haha. I’m not one of those people that constantly have to be surrounded by every one.

  2. winterlust says :

    I don’t go to cafes alone but I do a lot of things alone! My quite thinking time is walking to and from the train with some mellow music in my headphones as well as on the train.

    There’s nothing wrong with going to cafes alone! I’ve worked in a few cafes and most our customers came in alone to read or write or even just dine alone.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Starbucks new logo « Fashtastic - May 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

