What my American relatives are craving

My mom came over today and we went for lunch and then did some shopping. I wanted to pick up some gifts to bring for my relatives, and we got some things at the grocery store that are staple items my friends and relatives always ask us to bring.

And what’s that? Swedish coffee and chocolate. And my aunt always wants cake candle flares (on the left in the photo above), they create huge flares and are a fun cake-topper.

Of course, it doesn’t surprise me that my relatives ask us to bring coffee and chocolate. No offense to my american readers, but your coffee just doesn’t cut it. We like our strong, flavorful coffee, and I won’t even attempt to deny that bringing my relatives our Swedish beans is both a gift, and a means for me to guarantee I’ll have something decent to drink while I’m there.

That’s not to say I won’t be making a stop or two at Starbucks, but that’s mostly for the sake of acting like a piece of hot popcorn with the ‘bucks-stamped takeaway mug in my hand.

What are some “home”-staples you can’t live without when you travel abroad?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “What my American relatives are craving”

  1. teddi says :

    i’ve heard lots of people rave about swedish chocolate!

    http://honeybeelane.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

