In a very cold Valencia, Spain

I started my second semester of Uni on Thursday last week and since then I’ve been pretty much just studying non-stop (group work, project and an upcoming exam to study for… phew!). Thereof the lack of blog posts lately.

And now I’m in Valencia, Spain. I got to here on Thursday, after travelling for thirteen hours. A flight to Prague, then to Barcelona and from there a train for 3,5h. I got a lot of studying done along the way, I actually enjoyed studying on the airplane and train here. Anything to pass time, right?

I was hoping for nice warm weather but I’ve spent the entire time here freezing my butt off! It’s unusually cold in Valencia right now (just my luck?), only about 3-5 degrees centigrade and below zero once the sun goes down. My toes have been numb for two days and I have slept in a sweater, long pants and socks (and still felt cold all night). Not exactly what I was expecting. I’m actually colder here than I am at home in Sweden!

I’ve had a nice time seeing the city, Thursday I got here late in the evening so S and I just had dinner and watched a movie. Yesterday we walked down to the beach and watched the waves for a bit, and checked out all the fancy boats in the bay. In the afternoon we went biking into town to check out all the fancy buildings, and for dinner we went to a nice tapas bar down the street that had amazing food. It was nice to try real tapas.

This morning a friend of S picked us up and we headed down to the boats because there was going to be a sailing race. The race was cancelled because of the cold so we went and had a cup of coffee nearby, went grocery shopping and then had lunch. Have spent the afternoon watching football and rugby on the laptop (S choice, not mine… haha) and I took a walk down to the beach to take some pictures and collect some shells and sand, it’s insane cold and windy today too.

Around 6pm we’re going to an irish pub in town to watch the rugby game and then coming home for dinner, watch a movie and then it’s straight to bed for me. I’ve got to get up at 3.45am to get a taxi to the train station to go back to Barcelona and then back home. Won’t be home until about midnight tomorrow… it’s going to be a long day.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “In a very cold Valencia, Spain”

  1. winterlust says :

    It’s good that you got some studying done on the travels, least it’s not time wasted!

    Good to have some days off though?

  2. Living in Spain says :

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely pleased I found it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

