Thoughts on a Tuesday

quote

It’s been said that with age comes wisdom and confidence, but one thing I think is hard to learn to deal with (no matter how old or wise I get) is bullies.

Unfortunately, bullies exist pretty much everywhere, of all ages and in both school and work environments. I’ve been told to ignore them, that they’re just jealous or have issues with their own confidence (which is why they feel the need to make you feel less than, or downright worthless, compared to them). But ignoring them really isn’t as easily said as done.

I’m in my second semester at uni, and before embarking on this new chapter in life I was excited. I thought of all the new people I’d meet, the things I’d learn, and the experiences I’d gain. I also imagined a school environment without the bullies I was unfortunate to meet in school in the past. The latter was precisely what worried me too, would I really be spared those stomach wrenching bullies? Would it be any different?

Almost a year into uni now, I can say I’ve learned a lot, I’ve met new people, and I’ve experienced quite a bit so far. But the bullies are still there. It may not be a hoard of them ganging up on me, but one does more than enough damage. The demeaning looks, the subtle but very nasty comments, and the pointing out in what ways they are better than me.

It’s like a fly hovering in your bedroom while you’re trying to sleep. It gets to you, you get upset no matter how hard you try not to. And that’s the bully getting exactly what they want. They win. Over and over again.

So what do you do? You keep fighting. I fight by putting my energy into focusing my attention away from the demeaning looks and comments, it doesn’t always work, but I try. I aim to focus on what’s important, what I am there for – to get an education that will lead to a job that will hopefully, once and for all, be a happy and good place without bullies.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Thoughts on a Tuesday”

  1. Sara says :

    Men usch vad är det för dumma människor du träffar på. Och varför är de just på/efter dig? Sorgligt att de inte har något bättre för sig..

  2. winterlust says :

    I’m fortunate that I haven’t come across any bullies at uni….we have big lecture halls so we don’t really interact much which is a bit sad but I do have one office bully. He is insecure so he thinks if he belittles people, they will think he is superior.

    I just don’t pay attention to his remarks and he eventually stops talking to me. Not that easy with some but it works most the time!

Leave a Reply

