You offered your hand and it made a difference

Today I found myself browsing the Facebook page of a person who passed away almost three years ago. She was a very kind and caring person who left a significant mark in my life. We weren’t close, I only knew her briefly, but she was one of the few people who  – at a time when I was struggling in my life  – very early on noticed I needed a helping hand and reached out and offered me hers. I just wish I could have done something to help her too, to prevent her from leaving too soon.

That’s one of the many things that make Facebook so strange and at times painful. Those photos, status updates, and other imprints we leave on our page are there forever for the people we leave behind to see. But maybe it’s a good thing, I guess it’s like the 21st century memorial, a place for us to go when we want to feel close to the people we’ve lost in life. But it’s sad to read the messages people are still leaving on her page.

I think of her often. And maybe it’s weird that I think of her since I knew her so briefly, but some people are like that, they leave a mark the very first time you meet. She left so suddenly and under circumstances that really swept the rug out from under me, and I think that is what makes me think and wonder about her so often too. I suppose it’s appropriate somehow that I think of her today, it being Thanksgiving and all. I am thankful that I got the chance to meet her and I am thankful for her kindness towards me.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

