DIY: Glittering winter lanterns

glitter_lantern1
My apartment is very cold. So in an attempt to warm it up I light an obscene amount of candles whenever I’m home. When my scented candles burn out, I save the glass holder to reuse as a tea light holder. Yesterday I spiced some of them up with – you guessed it – glitter! Here’s how:

Let your scented candle burn down completely. Once it’s cooled off completely, scrape out any remaning wax and then wash in hot water until all remaning wax is completely washed off. Then paint the outside of the glass holder with glass/stone proof glue and dust with glitter. I used a mix of various white glitter and added some silver “diamonds” to some of the lanterns. Check the below pictures to see how they turned out.

glitter_lantern2

The mandatory before picture.

glitter_lantern3 glitter_lantern4 glitter_lantern5 glitter_lantern6

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “DIY: Glittering winter lanterns”

  1. Wackadoodle! says :

    that’s really cute. I’m finding myself more and more attracted to your blog!
    deffo gonna try this out!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Holiday decorations and the lack of Christmas spirit « - December 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

